RSS

Word for the day “The process of Renewal”

10 Oct

Galatians 2:20(NKJV) I have been crucified with Christ. I myself no longer live, but Christ lives in me. So I live my life in this earthly body by trusting in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.

When the light of God’s truth shines on our weakness and failure, we see the futility of self-righteousness and realize that the only sensible response is to stop pretending things aren’t so bad. They are! Spiritual renewal and transformation require that we repent, which means to acknowledge and turn from our sins. But we cannot truly repent until we see ourselves as we are, as we all are: flawed, unholy, in need of redemption and complete reformation.

It is, after all, our shortcomings, losses, failures, fears, and needs that drive us to God (At least that’s been my experience). Rarely does anyone seek God when life is problem free. Seldom do they appreciate the Lord’s love when we are always surrounded by friends and family. Rarely do they appreciate God’s amazing grace without the pain, hurt, and redemption aspect of God in our lives.

Many people who get started in the process of renewal get stuck because they are unwilling to make an assessment of themselves; for people who believe in nothing beyond themselves, the idea of conducting a searching moral inventory is a frightening thing. Do you evaluate yourself?

Seeing truth and accepting reality will cause discomfort, not emotionalism or excitement or a surge of ambition. But spiritual renewal results when our discomfort leads us to the Cross, and ultimately to the crucifixion of self, as the apostle Paul described when writing to the church in Galatia:

Point to ponder: Read again today’s reading ‘I have been crucified with Christ. I myself no longer live, but Christ lives in me. So I live my life in this earthly body by trusting in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.’ (Galatians 2:20). Simply saying when I look at my life and take inventory of myself, as I mature I need to see more of God at the forefront of my life, and less of me.

For His Kingdom,
Pastor James Baker, Jr.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 10, 2014 in Daily Inspiration

 

Please leave a comment!

 
